Upon Debating a Return

Every once in a while, I look back at this old blog of mine and marvel at just how often I used to post things here. Social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr…etc have really taken away the need for blogs as they existed in 2004, when Kevin Coyne of Country Universe mentioned that he was creating a Blogspot account, and that I might want to do the same.

I knocked out something like 350 posts over the years, but production steadily waned as my early-20s free time became consumed by other things, and the aforementioned social media sites made posting a few quick thoughts much more convenient. I could post something like “I’m liking the way the Yankee rotation is coming together”, and have an instant exchange with a few Yankee fans or haters. On this blog, I put in a good bit of work on my posts, but I rarely heard from anyone in the comments. (The notable exception of was my Uncle, who posted as Sherm. We could argue in the comments for days.)

A thought-out and structured argument, with research and supporting evidence, has seemingly become less important. Supporting your point has become an afterthought, or is washed away on a tide of “relax, its just Facebook”.

I went to graduate school and received a Master’s degree in journalism, but the profession was changing at a feverish clip. I remember being the only one with a blog in my first class, and talking to classmates on AIM. I vividly remember how upset George Vescey (sports columnist for the NY Times and brother of Peter) got when I asked him if he was concerned about traditional print media going the way of the dinosaur. I realized after a semester or so that I more than likely would not be making a living as a sports writer or sports blogger. Bill Simmons, a Holy Cross alumni and espn.com (and now Grantland) star was going to be one of the few people with a background like mine to make it rich writing sarcastic and pop-culture laden sports columns. He’d already spawned a legion of copycats, and I didnt have the time or inclination to grind out entry-level positions or unpaid freelance work

The irony of the fact that I will be linking this post to my Facebook wall to draw attention to it is not lost on me. Perhaps it would be better suited as a page there than a stand-alone blog. For me though, the bigger questions are “Is this work worth doing?” and “Does anyone actually care enough about my thoughts on sports to warrant anything more than my posts/tweets?” In just the process of crafting this post, I am guessing the answer is “no”. At worst, I can say I posted something in 2013 on a blog that began 9 years ago. Maybe this is just like visiting an old favorite restaurant or bar. Maybe I’ll lose my gusto for the process, as I have countless times before.

One Response to “Upon Debating a Return”

  1. bob Says:

    My last comment here (maybe it was my only) was on AJ who is now thriving in pressureless Pittsburgh. I can understand those who are busy with jobs, family, etc. finding less and less time for a regular blog. I started my blog on music, sports, etc. after i retired at my daughter’s suggestion as a way to keep my brain active. Almost 5 years later I’m getting a bit burned out but I’ll probably keep blogging since i have no plans to join Facebook.

    I’m surprised at the Yankees being in first place but i suspect that it’s only because the AL East is no longer the powerhouse it used to be. Whatever the reason, good luck to you and our Yankees.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

